Words Matter

Give me one word with meaning rather than 10,000 spoken with passion alone.

A passionate speech can stir the soul but will it promote permanent and significant change?

Many people go to lectures or presentations that are designed to motivate or empower, but most of these presentations are designed around a passionate presenter who has the skills to stir up emotion. When you look into what is being said you will often find nothing that you did not already know, or worse unproven, untested or even dangerous theories. Mostly you will find hype.

The truth or that which is right is inversely proportional to hype. There has been many ideologies, cults, sects, political agenda, philosophies, advertising, and even social development and recovery agencies that have been established over all of history that have used hype/propaganda/emotional blackmail to gain the buy-in of the masses to a particular view.

Whether it is an advert for international aid showing a child in poverty or the latest “flavour-of-the-month” motivational speaker, both use hype to get people to buy-in.

What will cause ongoing change?

It is not a quantity issue, the bullet point summary is often all people need.

While preparing for my degree I reached a make-or-break point. I had just given a presentation that had just fallen flat, I felt like I should just give up and walk away. One of the facilitators of the programme said one word that changed my approach, one word that changed my entire point of view, one word that gave me the hope and the ability to continue. One word was all that was needed, no lecture, no motivational speaker, no long term counseling. Just one word.

The word was “distill”.

The facilitator knew I had the raw material needed but I had not assembled in the way that showed how I knew what I knew. As a result of this one word I took my 10,000 words and “distilled” them. I took out the words that did not matter and only included the ones that did.

The facilitator used one word that changed my life, one word that I use to help and assist others with their plans for business or for themselves personally.

This one word “distill” mattered.

A volume of words may persuade the masses for a moment, but the right word in the right season said in the right way will change a person forever.

Be careful with words, words matter,  don’t make it a numbers game and make each one count. You will find that more often than not only a few are required.

Paul S Allen


About Paul S Allen

Musician (Guitar, Bass, Mandolin); Singer Song Writer; Photographer; Poet; Thinker. I have food allergies so ask when you invite me for dinner. Lumen accipe et imperti. (receive the light and pass it on) Leadership; Strategy; Vision;

Posted on 03/10/2010, in Business Development, Church, Faith and Personal Development, Leadership, Think and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

