My View of the Major International Rugby Tournament in New Zealand

This is a rant so I apologise now.

Paul S Allen

Paul S Allen

Let me make this clear: These views are my own and do not necessarily represent any organisation I am associated with.

So what are your memories of the major international rugby tournament so far?

Firstly let me say that I do hope that this event will be successful and yes even that the New Zealand team has a great tournament.

I hope that our country will be better off economically as a result of hosting it.

I also hope that visitors coming to New Zealand will take their time to enjoy the scenic wonders of our beautiful land.

But…

For me, this rugby event has brought big corporate sponsors dictating what the public can wear; what businesses can or can’t say; how people spend their own money; overpriced branded replica rugby jerseys; and now promotional campaigns that reduce New Zealanders and rugby supporters to be the object of local and international ridicule.

Although I do not follow rugby or any particular sport I respect the fact that many people do. “Grass root” support of rugby, and other sport, is part of the rich culture of New Zealand. These blunders by sponsors or may be by their marketing companies, whether deliberate or accidental, have tarnished New Zealand and New Zealanders.

The role of sponsorship is to help fund the events while providing an opportunity to promote the sponsors’ own products and services. So far very few of the major event sponsors for this event will entice me to buy or use their products. In this regard I feel that they have done themselves a disservice and have alienated the very people they are trying to reach.

So what about you, what are your memories of this major sporting event so far?

Paul S Allen

Forsyth Barr Stadium

Forsyrh Barr Stadium (Stadium Otago)

About Paul S Allen

Musician (Guitar, Bass, Mandolin); Singer Song Writer; Photographer; Poet; Thinker. I have food allergies so ask when you invite me for dinner. Lumen accipe et imperti. (receive the light and pass it on) Leadership; Strategy; Vision;

Posted on 18/08/2011, in Business Development, Community, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

